Roles and Permissions:
Netsuite provides two types of roles
To create a new custom role: Go to Setup > Users/Roles > Manage Roles > New
In one world account you can select subsidiaries to define for which subsidiaries this role is applicable. Users with this role access can create entities or post transactions only for the selected subsidiaries.
Employee Restrictions:
In the Employee Restrictions you have three filters
Allow Viewing: Check this box to allow users logged in with this role to only view the employee data but not editing. They can view the records by department restrictions filtering.
Do Not Restrict Employee Fields: If this check box is checked then user can select any employee in the employee select fields.
Allow Cross-Subsidiary Record Viewing: If this checkbox is checked then user can see records of other subsidiaries to which he don’t have access but he can’t edit the records.
Support Role: If this checkbox is checked and employee restrictions are applicable then users will be restricted in accessing cases based on assigned employee in case.
Partner Role: If this checkbox is checked and employee restrictions are selected then user will be restricted in accessing partner and vendor transactions.
Information about the role permissions:
In NetSuite you can define permissions for different record types like lists,transactions, reports, setup, custom records.
To define the permission in Role page: Go to Set Up > Users/Roles >Manage Roles.
Under the permission tab you will find subtabs like
To Add Permission: Under permissions tab select the record type for which you want to add permission and define permission level.
Cancel: Helps to Cancel the action.
Insert: Helps to insert the line in between two lines.
Remove Permission: Select the line which you want to remove and click on remove button that record type will be deleted.
General Access Levels Permissions:
VIEW: If the permission level is “View” then user can only view the record and they cannot create new records or edit existing records.
CREATE: If the permission level is “Create” then user can only view the existing records and create new records but can’t edit or delete existing records.
EDIT: If the permission level is “Edit” then user can Create new records, View and Edit existing records but can’t delete existing records.
FULL: If the permission level is “Full” then user can perform all actions like create, view,edit and delete.
By using roles you can define permissions for the users to the records which they can access and level of access.